New Releases

The Dark Jazz Project: Great Skies

The Dark Jazz Project: Great Skies

Ahead of the release of their self-titled album The Dark Jazz Project provide those who dare a glimpse into their soundtrack of nightmares, electronic rhythmic clatter and scorching synth fuzz. Click > here to preorder digital or limited compact disc.

Album released on 14th November 2022 on Irregular Patterns. You can read more about The Dark Jazz Project by clicking > here

Erik Leuthäuser and Arta Jēkabsone: BEACHFINDS

Erik Leuthäuser is a singer/songwriter/arranger based in Berlin and Arta Jēkabsone a Latvian born, New York based composer and curator who develops interdisciplinary projects. In 2022 Erik & Arta have arrived on Irregular Patterns to release BEACHFINDS a collection of ten haunting and beautiful songs inspired by fellow IP artist poetry Dean Wilson. You can read more about the BEACHFINDS album by clicking here, as well as background information on Erik Leuthäuser and Arta Jēkabsone.

Dark Jazz Project – Debut Album preorder available

Wild and untethered, The Dark Jazz Project debut album throws aside any form of safety net, boldly smashing genre distinctions and sonic preconceptions. Hardly taking a breath over 9 tracks it fuses jazz core sensibilities within a soundtrack of nightmares, electronic rhythmic clatter and scorching synth fuzz.  “I wanted to make something that was angry, complex and challenging. How I feel about the times we are living through.”  Andrew Spackman creator of the Dark Jazz Project. The DJP’s debut album drops on IP 14th November 2022 and is available for preorder right > here

  1. Space is the place
  2. Ahoy
  3. Hymer
  4. No Input
  5. Great Skies
  6. Heart
  7. Everyday
  8. Birds
  9. Pitch Up

Darker Nights Do Call, but……..

DARKER NIGHTS THEY DO CALL BUT…… the chill of autumn and winter gather pace IP announces a flurry of releases to warm the cockles of your heart. 15th September Hull’s 4th best poet Dean Wilson releases his debut album Sometimes I’m So Happy I’m Not Safe On The Stage: Live in Hull. Welcome to Dean Wilson’s world. A world filled with former lovers, current crushes, lively pubs, coastal towns, buses, beaches, crumbling cliffs and dangerous deckchairs captured here on a 28 track CD. Gatefold sleeve and imprinted CD. 

22nd September a very limited release of Alex H Duncan’s Subcubensis album will be available for purchase in a Limited Edition Double CD format. CD 1 contains the full studio album while CD2 is a recording of Alex H Duncan‘s Glastonbury Festival debut where he performed Subcubensis Live on the Greenpeace Stage (26.06.22). This will be a limited one-off release of 25 copies and will not be reprinted.

7th October and we welcome The Might She to the roster with her debut 4 track Domination EP and IP’s first adventure into the world of dance music. Moody instrumental’s evoking quiet contemplative moments and angelic vocal set against the darkness of the instrumentation. 21st October and we take another twist in our proud none genre approach with the release of Beach Finds. A beautiful collection of musical interruption’s of Dean Wilson’s poetry by acclaimed jazz musicians Arta Jēkabsone and Erik Leuhauser.

November 5th and the long awaited Hydrogen Tree‘s full length album is scheduled for release packed full of twisted lo-fi recordings and delicate story telling that offer hope and breaking hearts in equally proportions. 14th November wearing his latest moniker The Dark Jazz Project Andrew Spackman (SAD MAN, Nimzo-Indian, The Zoom Quartet) unleashes his quixotic and mercurial approach, fusing Jazzcore, free improvisation, dark ambience into a melting pot of noise, rhythmic chaos to create dark and unsettled landscapes via The Dark Jazz Project’s debut album.  Our final release of 2022 will be from Stroud’s Lensmen who present their first album since joining the IP roster. As we enter 2023 a new Paper Fishes album beckons.

The Dark Jazz Project

The Dark Jazz Project is a new musical adventure from Musician and Composer Andrew Spackman (SAD MAN, Nimzo- Indian). Here he brings his typically quixotic and mercurial approach, fusing Jazzcore, free improvisation, dark ambience into a melting pot of noise, rhythmic chaos to create dark and unsettled landscapes. 

The first 3 track EP is released via Irregular Frequencies (Sub label of Irregular Patterns). A test bed release before a full album drops at the end of the year. Releases July 15, 2022